A billion Tears

If I was keeping count
(Which I am not, it’s impossible to keep count
of teardrops like hairs on one’s head or of raindrops)

I can safely say that
I must have cried
A billion tears
And I have still
A billion tears more
Left inside me

“Why do you cry?” he asks
I don’t know, I reply
Maybe I just have abnormal
overactive tear glands
Or maybe I am over sensitive

Or maybe I am tired of having tried to be strong for too long

“Be strong” “Be strong”
They said
I put on a tough fighter’s face, stepped in the ring
Even though I felt fragile
Like eggs in a polythene bag

Leave a Reply

