Ain’t that the fruit (existential dilemma of a woman in Nepal)

Have you ever been thought of as a fruit? A few times in my life, I have been compared to a fruit. When I was 9 months pregnant and nearing delivery, an elderly female relative checked me out and said; “you don’t look ripe enough (to be near delivery/close to giving birth).

Another time, a male friend said to me “you are not ripe enough yet (to be listened to or to be taken seriously). Maybe in a few years you will ripen”.

Some days, I really doubt that I am a human being. Maybe I am a fruit, after all. A giant thinking, talking, writing, dancing, shivering lady pineapple?

“As Kesang Sherpa awoke one morning from uneasy dreams, she found herself transformed in her bed into a gigantic fruit”. “I cannot make you understand. I cannot make anyone understand what is happening inside me. I cannot even explain it to myself.”

Leave a Reply

